Popular Philip Ii Of Spain Books

10+ [Hand Picked] Popular Books On Philip Ii Of Spain

Discover the list of some best books written on Philip Ii Of Spain by popular award winning authors. These book on topic Philip Ii Of Spain highly popular among the readers worldwide.

4.3/5

La Rosa Inglesa by David Silvestre

Ubicada en el siglo XVI, esta obra de corte teatral reinventa la propia historia, la rivalidad entre dos reinos, celos, pasión, venganza, hegemonía y poder. Cielo e infierno se interponen en el mundo terreno.

I WANT TO READ THIS
3.5/5

The Scarlet Cloak by Jean Plaidy

Blasco Carramadino and his older brother, Domingo, are caught up in the plans of King Philip II of Spain to overthrow the British government and restore Catholicism. Reprint.

I WANT TO READ THIS
3.1/5

The Spanish Bridegroom by Jean Plaidy

To restore the power of Spain and bring England bak to the iron embrace of Holy Church, the young Phillip agrees to marry Mary Tudor. Set against the glittering courts of sixteenth century Europe, the Spain of the dreaded Inquisition and the tortured England of Bloody Mary, this powerful novel traces the story of Phillip II - and of the women who came to know this cold-blo To restore the power of Spain and bring England bak to the iron embrace of Holy Church, the young Phillip agrees to marry Mary Tudor. Set against the glittering courts of sixteenth century Europe, the Spain of the dreaded Inquisition and the tortured England of Bloody Mary, this powerful novel traces the story of Phillip II - and of the women who came to know this cold-blooded monster only as a devoted father and sensual lover.

I WANT TO READ THIS
3.7/5

The Boleyn Reckoning by Laura Andersen

A choice to forever change the course of history. While English soldiers prepare for the threat of invasion, William Tudor struggles with his own personal battles: he still longs for his childhood friend. But Minuette has married William’s trusted advisor, Dominic, in secret – an act of betrayal that puts both their lives in danger. Meanwhile, with war on the horizon, Prince A choice to forever change the course of history. While English soldiers prepare for the threat of invasion, William Tudor struggles with his own personal battles: he still longs for his childhood friend. But Minuette has married William’s trusted advisor, Dominic, in secret – an act of betrayal that puts both their lives in danger. Meanwhile, with war on the horizon, Princess Elizabeth must decide where her duty really lies: with her brother or her country… Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Boleyn Reckoning concludes the trilogy of the Tudor king who never was: Henry IX.

I WANT TO READ THIS
4.8/5

Philip of Spain by Henry Kamen

Philip II of Spain, ruler of the most extensive empire the world had ever known, has been viewed in a harsh and negative light since his death in 1598. Identified with repression, bigotry, and fanaticism by his enemies, he has been judged more by the political events of his reign than by his person. This book, published four hundred years after Philip's death, is the first Philip II of Spain, ruler of the most extensive empire the world had ever known, has been viewed in a harsh and negative light since his death in 1598. Identified with repression, bigotry, and fanaticism by his enemies, he has been judged more by the political events of his reign than by his person. This book, published four hundred years after Philip's death, is the first full-scale biography of the king. Placing him within the social, cultural, religious, and regional context of his times, it presents a startling new picture of his character and reign. Drawing on Philip's unpublished correspondence and on many other archival sources, Henry Kamen reveals much about Philip the youth, the man, the husband, the father, the frequently troubled Christian, and the king. Kamen finds that Philip was a cosmopolitan prince whose extensive experience of northern Europe broadened his cultural imagination and tastes, whose staunchly conservative ideas were far from being illiberal and fanatical, whose religious attitudes led him to accept a practical coexistence with Protestants and Jews, and whose support for Las Casas and other defenders of the Indians in America helped determine government policy. Shedding completely new light on most aspects of Philip's private life and, in consequence, on his public actions, the book is the definitive portrayal of Philip II.

I WANT TO READ THIS
3.1/5

Aspects of European History 1494-1789 by Stephen J. Lee

First published in 1984. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

I WANT TO READ THIS
3.4/5

Heinemann Advanced History: Spain 1474 1700 (Heinemann Advanced History) by Colin Pendrill

Containing sample exam questions at both AS and A2 levels, this text shows students what makes a good answer and why it scores high marks. It helps students grasp the difference between a GCSE and an A-level mark in history.

I WANT TO READ THIS
3.8/5

The First Queen of England: The Myth of "Bloody Mary" by Linda Porter

In this groundbreaking new biography of “Bloody Mary,” Linda Porter brings to life a queen best remembered for burning hundreds of Protestant heretics at the stake, but whose passion, will, and sophistication have for centuries been overlooked. Daughter of Henry VIII and Katherine of Aragon, wife of Philip of Spain, and sister of Edward VI, Mary Tudor was a cultured Renaiss In this groundbreaking new biography of “Bloody Mary,” Linda Porter brings to life a queen best remembered for burning hundreds of Protestant heretics at the stake, but whose passion, will, and sophistication have for centuries been overlooked. Daughter of Henry VIII and Katherine of Aragon, wife of Philip of Spain, and sister of Edward VI, Mary Tudor was a cultured Renaissance princess. A Latin scholar and outstanding musician, her love of fashion was matched only by her zeal for gambling. It is the tragedy of Queen Mary that today, 450 years after her death, she remains the most hated, least understood monarch in English history. Linda Porter’s pioneering new biography—based on contemporary documents and drawing from recent scholarship—cuts through the myths to reveal the truth about the first queen to rule England in her own right. Mary learned politics in a hard school, and was cruelly treated by her father and bullied by the strongmen of her brother, Edward VI. An audacious coup brought her to the throne, and she needed all her strong will and courage to keep it. Mary made a grand marriage to Philip of Spain, but her attempts to revitalize England at home and abroad were cut short by her premature death at the age of forty-two.  The first popular biography of Mary in thirty years, The First Queen of England offers a fascinating, controversial look at this much-maligned queen.

I WANT TO READ THIS
3.9/5

Sister Queens: The Noble, Tragic Lives of Katherine of Aragon and Juana, Queen of Castile by Julia Fox

The history books have cast Katherine of Aragon, the first queen of King Henry VIII of England, as the ultimate symbol of the Betrayed Woman, cruelly tossed aside in favor of her husband’s seductive mistress, Anne Boleyn. Katherine’s sister, Juana of Castile, wife of Philip of Burgundy and mother of the Holy Roman Emperor Charles V, is portrayed as “Juana the Mad,” whose e The history books have cast Katherine of Aragon, the first queen of King Henry VIII of England, as the ultimate symbol of the Betrayed Woman, cruelly tossed aside in favor of her husband’s seductive mistress, Anne Boleyn. Katherine’s sister, Juana of Castile, wife of Philip of Burgundy and mother of the Holy Roman Emperor Charles V, is portrayed as “Juana the Mad,” whose erratic behavior included keeping her beloved late husband’s coffin beside her for years. But historian Julia Fox, whose previous work painted an unprecedented portrait of Jane Boleyn, Anne’s sister, offers deeper insight in this first dual biography of Katherine and Juana, the daughters of Spain’s Ferdinand and Isabella, whose family ties remained strong despite their separation. Looking through the lens of their Spanish origins, Fox reveals these queens as flesh-and-blood women—equipped with character, intelligence, and conviction—who are worthy historical figures in their own right. When they were young, Juana’s and Katherine’s futures appeared promising. They had secured politically advantageous marriages, but their dreams of love and power quickly dissolved, and the unions for which they’d spent their whole lives preparing were fraught with duplicity and betrayal. Juana, the elder sister, unexpectedly became Spain’s sovereign, but her authority was continually usurped, first by her husband and later by her son. Katherine, a young widow after the death of Prince Arthur of Wales, soon remarried his doting brother Henry and later became a key figure in a drama that altered England’s religious landscape. Ousted from the positions of power and influence they had been groomed for and separated from their children, Katherine and Juana each turned to their rich and abiding faith and deep personal belief in their family’s dynastic legacy to cope with their enduring hardships. Sister Queens is a gripping tale of love, duty, and sacrifice—a remarkable reflection on the conflict between ambition and loyalty during an age when the greatest sin, it seems, was to have been born a woman.

I WANT TO READ THIS
3.4/5

With the Heart of a King: Elizabeth I of England, Philip II of Spain, and the Fight for a Nation's Soul and Crown by Benton Rain Patterson

History.

I WANT TO READ THIS